Tags

, , ,

image

I’ve been reflecting a lot recently on what a difference it makes to a person’s life when they understand their place in the bigger picture of the spread of history and God’s plan.

I’m reading Terry Virgo’s book ‘The Tide is Turning’, part of which is a study of the life of Nehemiah. Yesterday I was reading about how Nehemiah overcame all the opposition thrown at him. One of the points was taken from this verse. Nehemiah knew the task he had been given and thus was able to recognise distractions when they were thrown at him.

But then Terry went on to say this:

Perhaps the phrase “I am doing a great work. I cannot come down,” reminds you of another man? His opponents said to Him, “If you are some great one, why don’t you come down?” From the cross he would have answered,  “I am doing a great work. I will not come down.”

What a connection! Knowing what he was up there for gave Jesus the strength to stay the course in the midst of agonising torture. Knowing what he was up there for gave Nehemiah the strength to stay the course amidst distractions, mockery, insults and slander. Knowing what we are here for should similarly give us the strength to stay our own courses when the going gets tough – or even just mundane or tedious.

